Home   Business   Article

Subscribe Now

Candidates confirmed for General Election

More news, no ads


TWO independent candidates will stand in Stratford-on-Avon at next month's General Election.

When the final nomination list was published after the deadline for nominations passed at 4pm on Thursday, it included the names of Tom Darwood, of Southend East, and Jandy Spurway, of Moreton-in-Marsh.

They will be on the ballot paper alongside the already confirmed Nadhim Zahawi* (Conservative), Jeff Kenner (Labour), Elizabeth Adams (Lib Dem), and Dominic Giles (Green Party).

Both will be invited to take part in the Stratford-upon-Avon Herald's hustings at Stratford ArtsHouse on Wednesday, 17th May. For FREE tickets click HERE

Mrs Spurway, aged 79, told the Herald: “I have a big family, but they’re all grown up, even my grandchildren, and they don’t need me anymore, so what do you do?

“Most people my age join the U3A or WI to kill time, but I have oodles of energy and I have nothing else to do, and I want to use that positively."

Mr Darwood, who has stood in five previous General Elections and by-elections around the country, said his campaign centred around constitutional reform which will see parliament consider the idea of an elected or appointed monarchy.

"I will put my case across coherently, the votes are not important, but it may be that I sow the seeds of what I hope to achieve during my candidacy," he said.

There are five candidates in Kenilworth and Southam, which covers Wellesbourne and Kineton, and surrounding villages: Jeremy Wright* (Conservative), Bally Singh (Labour),Harry Cottam (UKIP), Richard Dickson (Lib Dem), and Rob Ballantyne (Green Party).

Five candidates will contest Warwick and Leamington: Chris White* (Conservative), Matt Western (Labour),Bob Dhillon (UKIP), Nick Solman (Lib Dem), and Jonathan Chilvers (Green Party).

The Mid Worcestershire constituency will also be contested by five candidates: Nigel Huddleston* (Conservative),David Greenwood (UKIP), Fred Grindrod (Labour), Margaret Rowley (Lib Dem), and Fay Whitfield (Green Party).

And among the seven candidates contesting Redditch constituency will be Alex Hospital campaigner Neal Stote (National Health Action Party) and former leader of Stratford-on-Avon District Council, Susan Juned (Lib Dem). Other candidates are: Rachel MacLean (Conservative**), Rebecca Blake (Labour), Paul Swansborough (UKIP), Kevin White (Green Party), and Sally Woodhall (Independent).

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown* will defend his Cotswold seat against five other candidates:Andrew Gant (Lib Dem),Chris Harlow (UKIP), Mark Huband (Labour), Sabrina Poole (Green Party), and Sandy Steel (Independent).

Elsewhere, former Stratford district councillor for Shipston, Jonathan Gullis, has been selected as the Conservative candidate for Washington and Sunderland West. Mr Gullis, from Alderminster, is the only one of the five candidates contesting the seat that had been held since its creation in 2010 who does not live in the north east.

NHS campaigner, Roseanne Edwards, will contest the Banbury seat as an independent, but on a Vote for the Horton Hospital ticket. She also stood in the previous two General Elections for the National Health Action Party. Other candidates are: Victoria Prentis* (Conservative),Sean Woodcock (Labour),Dickie Bird (UKIP), John Howson (Lib Dem), and Ian Middleton (Green Party).

Stratford District Council has joined forces with neighbouring Cherwell District Council, South Northamptonshire Council and Banbury Town Council to launch a legal challenge to the consultation about the changes at the Horton Hospital in Banbury.

*denotes candidate who was MP when parliament was dissolved on 3rd May, 2017.

**denotes party which held the seat when parliament was dissolved on 3rd May, 2017.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More