Local trio on New Year’s Honours List


THE MP for The Cotswolds has been Knighted on the New Year’s Honours List.

Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown – a member of the Conservatives Party’s ruling 1922 Committee – has been honoured for political and public service.

Sir Geoffrey was first elected to parliament in 1992 and has served as Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Rt. Hon Douglas Hogg QC MP, the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, and on a member of a number of key committees.

He is also a former Shadow Minister for Trade and Foreign Affairs, and Shadow Minister for International Development and Trade.

Former Warwickshire Coroner, Cllr Michael Coker, MBE.

Also honoured by being made MBE is Cllr Michael Coker, a former Warwickshire Coronor and former leader of Warwick District Council.

Wolverton resident David Stone has also been made MBE for services to young people.

West Midlands Ambulance Service’s Deputy Chief Executive, Diane Scott, has been named in this year’s New Year’s Honours List as one of only two England-based recipients of the Queen’s Ambulance Service Medal (QAM).

The QAM ensures that the dedication of ambulance staff has the same level of Royal recognition as other members of the emergency services.

Diane is an Executive Director of the Trust Board and is responsible for the Corporate and Clinical Directorates. She is also a Health and Care Professions Council registered paramedic.

See Thursday’s Herald for reaction from the recipients.