Murder team get police chief awards

Bethany Hill and the flat on Hertford Road where she died. Main photo: Mark Williamson.

THE service and dedication of officers and staff from Warwickshire Police as well as members of the public has been recognised at a special ceremony.

The Warwickshire Chief Constable’s awards evening took place at the Spa Centre in Leamington last Tuesday.
Awards were presented by The Lord Lieutenant of Warwickshire, Tim Cox and The High Sheriff of Warwickshire, Mark Davies.

Detective Sergeant Neal Candelent, Detective Constable Marcus Franklin, Detective Constable Craig Varney and Detective Sergeant Paul Thompson received Chief Constable Commendations at the ceremony for their part in investigating the murder of Bethany Hill.

Bethany’s body was found at an address in Stratford on March 2016 following a 999 call to Warwickshire Police and a murder investigation was launched shortly afterwards.

In January 2017, Jack Williams and Kayleigh Woods were found guilty of Bethany’s murder and sentenced to life imprisonment.

All four officers were commended for their hard work, determination and attention to detail in achieving justice for Bethany’s family.

More than 15 members of the force’s forensic team were also recognised for their diligence in identifying key evidence that was relied on at the murder trial.

They are: Gemma Davidson, Jane McCoy, Georgina McCarthy, Matthew Webb, Rachael Edwards, Hannah Clements, Daniel Warwood, Peter Baker, Elizabeth Oldham, Emma Higgins, Kevin Furlong, Matthew Barron, Glenn Chard, Matthew Toone, Amanda Harrison, Peter Hunter, Ian Best, Rebecca Rook, Claire Grace and Davinia Price.